The Planets Bend Between Us

I like the concept of astronomy. I would actually like astronomy if there weren’t so much science involved. 🙂

Mostly, I just like stars and the night sky. In my room at my parents’ house, I still have those glow-in-the-dark stars covering my walls. And this past weekend, when I was driving to my parents’ house, I enjoyed looking at the stars. I’ve forgotten how big the sky is when you’re out in the middle of nowhere.

When I took physical science a few years ago, we had a lab where we went out to the hill where the football field was under construction. Our professors set up several telescopes, and we did a little stargazing. It was the one science lab that I thoroughly enjoyed. That night, Saturn was visible in the sky, and with the telescope, we could make out the rings. It was so beautiful to stand there on the darkened hill and be able to see the outline of a planet millions of miles away.

Tonight, as I drove home after taking my world lit final exam, I had a perfect view the entire way home of the moon. And visible in the sky near the moon were Jupiter and Venus, brighter than any of the stars in the sky. And amazingly enough, today was really gloomy and overcast. I wasn’t sure anything would be visible in the sky, but by twilight, the sky had begun to clear. And the planets were so beautiful.

All this to say, if you haven’t had the pleasure of seeing Jupiter and Venus yet, you should walk outside and check it out. Just enjoy the night sky.

Also, I’m adding another item to The List:

#71: Buy a telescope and take up stargazing with someone I really like. 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Planets Bend Between Us

  1. Hope says:

    #7 is going down on my list too:)

  2. Mandy says:

    Oh, how well I remember the glow in the dark stars. I kind of miss them now. Thanks for reminding me that no matter how old and adult we are, and how many pressing obligations we have, it’s nice to be able to take time out and just look around us.

Leave a Reply

