Beauty and Truth, part 2

In my first post on this blog, I posted a memoir that I’d written about beauty. It was an effort to figure out what beauty actually is; it was borne out of my frustrations that real Beauty rarely aligns with societal expectations and perceptions of beauty.

With my fallible, limited, tiny human brain, I will never fully understand Beauty on this fallen earth. But ocassionally, a very important piece of the puzzle clicks into place and gives me a glimpse of the whole picture. Sort of like a highway sign letting me know I’m heading in the right direction.

Last night, I was reading Psalm 45, which, according to the notes in my Bible, is classified as “A Song of Love.” When I got to verse 10, I noticed that the singer directly addresses the King’s daughters:

Listen, O daughter,
Consider and incline your ear;
Forget your own people also, and your Father’s house;

The last part reminded me of Jesus telling the disciples that they needed to leave everything behind–even their families–to follow Him. But, of course, this is centuries before Jesus was born–like the prequel to the Story.

But then I moved on to verse 11, and sort of sat in a stunned silence:

So the King will greatly desire your beauty;
Because He is your Lord, worship Him.

Note the use of the semicolon, first of all. A semicolon really is a great little piece of punctuation; it’s used when a period and a space just won’t cut it, when two complete thoughts are so intertwined that they must be connected in an above-average way.

With that in mind, could it be that beauty and worship go hand-in-hand? If worship is a gift to God, then perhaps beauty is a gift from God, intended to be used for His glory. He wants our beauty and our worship.

4 thoughts on “Beauty and Truth, part 2

  1. andrewlewis says:

    Really fantastic. Thank you.

  2. Hope says:

    Haley, I needed that.

  3. transwriter says:

    I love this and your insight here.

  4. Harvin says:

    And that is why the semicolon is my boyfriend.

Leave a Reply

