#64: Biltmore

A few weeks ago, one of the English teachers and I were chatting at work, and she asked if I’d ever been to the Biltmore. I hadn’t, but it’s on The List, and she was shocked that I’d never been. Turns out she’s a passholder and had a few free passes to the Biltmore, which she gave to me. So Harvin and I went yesterday.

I really enjoyed it (of course!). It’s labeled “America’s Largest Home,” and it was built by one of America’s richest men during the Gilded Age. I expected it to be an ostentious display of wealth that would annoy me, but it was so beautiful and classy that I was mostly just mesmerized.

biltmore-libraryMy favorite room by far was the library. I actually did tear up when I walked in. It’s everything I could ever dream of in a home library–a huge globe, a spiral staircase, a massive fireplace, comfy chairs, and, best of all, two levels containing thousands of books!

Harvin and I also decided that we want to live in round tower bedrooms. Round rooms are just so much more fun than the square ones we live in now. And we’re going to ask Clint, our apartment’s maintenance man, if he’ll build us some gargoyles outside the apartment building. 🙂

After we toured the house, we ate lunch in the Stable Cafe, which has the best cornbread I’ve ever eaten. They also gave us eco-friendly paper straws, which I’ve never had before. It’s a lot different to drink water through a paper straw than a plastic one. So different that it’s worth mentioning in my blog about Biltmore.

We browsed the gift shops, too. I bought a lot of postcards in the Book Bindery, which also features books from tons of Appalachian writers–Thomas Wolfe and Joel Chandler Harris were, of course, the most interesting for us, since we visited both of their houses recently.

All in all, it was a really awesome day. I hung out with my best friend, exploring an amazing house and gardens. And I marked yet another item off The List.

Now it’s time to decide which one to tackle next…

3 thoughts on “#64: Biltmore

  1. Katherine says:

    One of my favorite places to go (if a bit expensive)! I LOVE the Sargent painting hanging in the Great Hall. Did you know that Edith Wharton staid there? I bet the gardens were just lovely this time of year.

  2. Harvin says:

    It was a fantastic day to share with a BFF! My favorite parts were what happened after the house tour, but I guess that’s not for public domain.

    Err… well… that sounds so much worse than I intended. Y’know what I mean: taking pictures on the lawn, seeing the gardens, the bus ride, the last gift shop… =D

  3. […] darn split level!). In my opinion no home would be complete without a library, this one is from the Biltmore Estate:It’s so dreamy, but it’s not too much right? I would like to visit this estate […]

Leave a Reply

