March Books

1. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, J. K. Rowling. A re-read, of course. But I’m working my way back through the books.

2. Tuck Everlasting, Natalie Babbitt. This semester’s choice for NGU’s new Film & Fiction/English club. I love this book so much, and I wish someone had taught this book in one of my middle school English classes. The conflict of eternal youth vs. death is really spectacular.

3. The Sound and the Fury, William Faulkner. My second time reading it; an assignment for my 20th Century American Fiction class. This book is intense and difficult and has a bad reputation among students. However, it is one of the most rewarding books I’ve ever read. The first time I read it, I spent most of the book utterly confused and angry at Faulkner. When I reached the end, and I understood what was going on and why I was confused, and I realized that Faulkner was a brilliant writer. Reading it this time, knowing what was actually going on in the book, was really good, although emotionally exhausting. (I read most of it over two days. I had to take nap breaks to rest my brain.) One of my favorite books, and worth the tremendous effort it takes to read it.

4. Standing Tall, Joan Bauer. A young adult novel about a really tall 12-year-old guy nicknamed Tree who learns how to make his life matter for more than just his height. It’s a pretty decent book, as are most of hers.

5. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, J.K. Rowling. Now that I’ve re-read this sixth book in the series, I’m really looking forward to the movie coming out in July.

Amazingly enough, only one of these books was for school, and the rest were young adult books. I guess it’s pretty easy to see what I really enjoy, right? 🙂

Fewer books in March than in February. Part of that is due to lots of extra work for midterms. Part of that is due to getting my laptop cable fixed. When I don’t have the internet to distract me (as I didn’t in the entire month of February), I read a lot more.

My total count now is 21 books in 2009. Only April, and I’m almost halfway through the challenge!

One thought on “March Books

  1. Harvin says:

    Jeepers love. Been reading much? I’m almost finished with A Room of One’s Own and torn between, oh, 15 books to read next. =) I think I might stick with another adult work or two before settling back in with, say, Harry Potter.

Leave a Reply

