It’s only love.

letters-from-the-skyOn April 28, it will have been a year since Civil Twilight opened for Switchfoot at The Orange Peel in Asheville, and my world was turned upside down. Okay, that’s a bit dramatic, but if you knew me at all last summer, you’ll also recognize that it’s not much of an exaggeration. 🙂

Admittedly, I was OBSESSED for most of the entire summer. They are glorious. And if they had more than one album containing a mere 14 songs, they’d probably eclipse Switchfoot as my favorite band. As it is, they rank in the top 3.

But this post isn’t about that. I’ll get to my point:

On July 7, Civil Twilight is re-releasing their album Human as a self-titled album with several new tracks! (That also means that one day, when they’re famous, my autographed copy of Human will be worth big bucks. Not that I’d ever sell it…) Hybrid Magazine already has a review up (it’s terribly written and actually only talks about the songs that are already on Human, but you can read it anyway, if you’d like).

Even better news: they’re releasing the first (new!) single on May 12! OMG…less than a month away!

I’m not hyperventilating. I promise. But after they release the album, they’re supposed to start a national tour! That’s gotta include Greenville…the city where they lived for several years…right? I can’t wait for the tour dates to be announced. How many shows do you think I can manage? (I doubt I’ll beat the three-shows-in-eight-days record from April/May of last year, but I aim to try!) Also, how many more times do you think I’ll have to meet Steven (the gorgeous lead singer) before he’ll remember me and know we’re destined to be at least BFFs? 🙂

Seriously though, this is GREAT news that I’ve been waiting a long time for. Civil Twilight and a new album with several new songs and a tour! YES!!!!

And just in case you’ve never seen it, here’s the video for “Letters from the Sky,” which will inevitably be one of their biggest hits (and ladies, try not to drool on your keyboard):

3 thoughts on “It’s only love.

  1. […] life and love and why « It’s only love. […]

  2. Harvin says:

    I am glad I could be part of this moment. =) And I am SO GLAD that a decent band opened for Switchfoot the second time around!

    How many more fated encounters with Andrew do you think it will take before he realizes I’m meant to be the guitar to his bow? Err… strings he can pluck? No, the chords he can rock? Hmm, I must work on my musical pickup lines. =P

  3. Hope says:

    Emotionally intense- like a suspended moment.

Leave a Reply

