Mean Everything to Nothing

manchester-orchestraI’ve recently become a fan of the band Manchester Orchestra. I don’t know why I was never a fan before–maybe I just wasn’t ready. But about six weeks ago, I listened to their first full-length album I’m Like a Virgin Losing a Child all the way through, and I was hooked. Like Snow Patrol’s Eyes Open, it’s one of those albums that I can listen to on repeat for hours. In fact, I don’t start listening to it unless I know I can make it through at least once (or I can leave it in my car and listen to it for days at a time). I liked the album so much, I bought one of their EPs, You Brainstorm, I Brainstorm, But Brilliance Needs a Good Editor, and I’ve now listened to that album more than the full-length.

So when their second full-length album, Mean Everything to Nothing, came out on Tuesday, and iTunes had it for $7.99, I was pretty stoked. And I find the album to be phenomenal–just as good, if not better, than their first.

In my opinion, the best parts of the album: mean-everything-to-nothing

1. The first single, “I’ve Got Friends,” gets stuck in my head often. In a good way, not an annoying way. It’s the track I first listened to over and over until I really figured out what my favorites are. So good.

2. The track “The River” is probably my favorite on the album, if only because they take lyrics to my favorite hymn “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing” and twist them around, adding the phrase “I’m gonna leave you the first chance I get” to the end. It’s heartbreakingly honest. I like that.

3. Potentially tied for my favorite is “Pride.” The band premiered the video on Spinner.com on Friday, and both the song and the video are intense. You can click the link to see the video and read Andy Hull’s comments about both it and the song.

Also, if you’re a social networking junkie, you can friend them on MySpace, follow them on Twitter, become a fan on Facebook, or just listen to the music and be blissfully happy. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Mean Everything to Nothing

  1. Harvin says:

    I like their music, but I am blinded by the titles of the albums. I want to be fan only because that EP is entitled You Brainstorm, I Brainstorm, But Brilliance Needs a Good Editor. Literary references = hot stuff.

  2. X1FM Radio says:

    X1FM loves to showcase bands who have come out of nowhere and manage to crush the charts. Manchester Orchestra has done just that this year. And, that is why they are “This Week’s Greatest Band Ever.” You can request both of their singles “I’ve Got Friends” and “Shake It Out” at X1FM.COM.

    http://www.x1fm.com/alternative#/shows/noiselab/Manchester-Orchestra-Greatest-Band-Ever

Leave a Reply

