April Books

Now that it’s officially May (how did that happen, by the way?), it’s time for my April update on the 50 Book Challenge:

1. Holes, Louis Sachar. A book my (all things English-hating) brother actually read and enjoyed. I’m not sure why it took me so long to actually get around to reading it, but I really loved it. It really is a unique book. Not a whole lot happens in the beginning–Stanley Yelnats has been mistakenly accused of theft and is sent to a camp where delinquent boys dig holes all day. But Sachar blends Stanley’s story with “history” of the lake where the camp is located, and in the end, about three stories end up interwoven. Decades-old wrongs are righted, good triumphs over evil, and Stanley proves that the good kid can emerge victorious.

2. Their Eyes Were Watching God, Zora Neale Hurston. Another assignment for my American Fiction class. This is the fourth time I’ve been assigned this book to read, and I’ve read it each time. It’s amazing–one of my favorites.

3. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, J.K. Rowling. I’ve finished again. I love these books–flawed though they may be. Even the epilogue didn’t diminish my satisfaction at finishing the series again.

4. The Light Princess, George MacDonald, illustrated by Maurice Sendak. This delightful little fairy tale is about a princess who is cursed by her aunt at a young age; the curse actually takes away her gravity, rendering her weightless and with a cool ability to float everywhere she goes. She’s also very light-hearted, always laughing and never taking anything seriously. She spends most of her time swimming in the beautiful lake near the castle, where she feels at home. It’s a fascinating tale, and MacDonald uses puns and has a fantastic sense of humor that he weaves throughout the story. In the end, the light princess must choose between her beloved lake and the prince who is willing to sacrifice his life for her happiness, and it is her tears that lift the curse and restore the dried-out lake. And she and her prince live happily ever after, after he teaches her how to walk under the constraints of gravity. 🙂

5. The Truth About Forever, Sarah Dessen. My favorite book by my favorite young adult author. I’ve read this one so many times, but I still enjoy it each time I re-read it.

6. This Lullaby, Sarah Dessen. I re-read this one while avoiding reading The Bell Jar for school.

7. The Bell Jar, Sylvia Plath. Finally finished it, a day after finishing the discussion in class. I was just a little behind there. I guess I’m glad I read it. But I’m at the point in the semester where I just don’t care so much anymore. I read it. Class discussion was interesting. But, to be honest, I don’t really have an opinion one way or the other: I wouldn’t say I’m a fan of Plath, but I don’t dislike her.

8. The Day of the Locust, Nathanael West. A book about the downside of Hollywood life. Weird book. I read it, but like with The Bell Jar, I have no real opinion of it.

Not bad for April. My total count’s at 29…only 21 more to go before I reach my goal…and I still have 8 months left in the year… 🙂

Leave a Reply

