June Books

I’ve officially finished the Book Challenge! (Not that I plan on stopping–how fast can I make it to 100, do you think?)

Here’s my tally for June:

1. The Sea of Trolls, Nancy Farmer. A fantastic young adult fantasy. Check out my review.

2. Just Listen, Sarah Dessen. Yes, another re-read. She’s my favorite YA author.

3. Anne of Avonlea, L. M. Montgomery. The sequel to Anne of Green Gables. Delightful, as always.

4. The Origins and Development of the English Language, 4th ed, Thomas Pyles & John Algeo. Yes, this is a textbook for my HEL class. But I read everything except the last chapter, which isn’t covered in class. Due to the tremendous amount of effort I put into this class, I’m totally counting this book towards my book challenge. And I seriously learned a lot, which is more important. 🙂

5. The Host, Stephenie Meyer. My favorite Meyer novel. My third time reading it. Also, the first book I actually reviewed on my blog.

6. Along for the Ride, Sarah Dessen. Her newest book–it came out June 16th. I was not disappointed. 🙂

7. Ghosts, Apparitions, and Poltergeists: An Exploration of the Supernatural through History, Brian Righi. If I were going to write a book about the history of ghosts, I’d hope it would look like this. Righi examines ghosts throughout centuries of history, including The Epic of Gilgamesh and Egyptian rites, through such modern-day stories as The Amityville Horror. He examines the differences between ghosts, apparitions, and poltergeists, and even discusses near-death experiences and Ouija boards, among other subjects. Basically, this book is a history of ghost lore, without ever being too scientific or too wordy. He provides needed explanations and lots of stories, and I really enjoyed reading it, actually. But then again, I’m a little morbid, too. 🙂

8. Why Buffy Matters: The Art of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Rhonda V. Wilcox. A very good critical assessment of the TV show. Wilcox spends the first six chapters discussing overall themes and concepts of the entire series, and she discusses six individual episodes in the last six chapters. One of my favorite chapters? A comparison of T.S. Eliot’s The Waste Land to the season 4 finale, “Restless.” Wilcox is a Buffy scholar, and she very aptly used literary theories and philosophy to examine my favorite TV show. So wonderful.

9. Love, Stargirl, Jerry Spinelli. The sequel to Stargirl. Even better than the first, if that’s possible.

10. V for Vendetta, Alan Moore and David Lloyd. In case you missed it, here are my thoughts.

11. Being Nikki, Meg Cabot. This is my 50th book of the year! Sadly, it wasn’t as great as it could have been. I wish #50 had been a better choice.

Now…on to 100!

Leave a Reply

