August Books

1. Anne of the Island, L. M. Montgomery. The 3rd book in the series. My favorite, I think. Anne and Gilbert finally get together. 🙂

2. Rules of the Road, Joan Bauer. A very good YA novel. The prequel to Best Foot Forward, which I re-read last month after finding it on sale at a bookstore at Myrtle Beach. This book I found on sale in Salem, MA. Traveling = cheap, good Joan Buaer books.

3. The Road, Cormac McCarthy. I started reading this two years ago and didn’t finish. I started again after buying my own copy (with Viggo Mortenson on the cover) at that bookstore in Salem. Had a hard time putting it down–I only did so because I was having such a great time in Boston.

4. Coming Home, Barbara Jean Hicks. It’s Christian romance, but it’s good.

5. Nature (and other selected writings), Ralph Waldo Emerson. I bought a copy of Emerson’s work at the Ralph Waldo Emerson Memorial House in Concord, MA, because I only had anthologies with excerpts. Upon reading Nature in its entirety, I found that I actually like Emerson a lot more than I originally thought.

6. The Gammage Cup, Carol Kendall. A Newbery Honor Book from the 1940s, this fantasy is one that I re-read pretty often. It’s about a group of people called the Minnipins who outlaw five of their own for wearing colors that are too bright and for questioning the accepted history of the Minnipins. Those five outlaws then discover that a group of invaders known as the Mushrooms are looking to attack, and the save the Land Between the Mountains, where all the Minnipins live. It’s really great. 🙂

7. Water for Elephants, Sarah Gruen. A book about the circus! I really enjoyed this story about a man who joins the circus in the 1920s…except for the gratuitous sex scenes that were completely unnecessary to the plot of the story. Ugh. If it weren’t for those, this book would have been truly spectacular.

8. The Westing Game, Ellen Raskin. It’s a Newbery Award winner from the 1970s. I like the premise–sixteen “heirs” are given clues to discover who killed Sam Westing. The only problem is that, even reading it as an adult, I had problems keeping track which character had what clues and who was partnered with who. It’s a lot to keep track of, which I think harms the story. Younger readers don’t have the ability to keep that focused, I don’t think. Still, it’s a fun little mystery.

9. Mary Anne and the Little Princess, Ann M. Martin. Yes, this is a Baby-Sitters Club book. I discovered a stash of them in my closet when I was digging for the bag I’d used at the Greenville Literacy Society’s booksale last year. The BSC books I’d bought then were still in the bag. I read this one.

Sadly, my book-reading ground to a screeching halt when I started teaching. I have so little free time that the only time I really get to read is a few minutes before I go to bed. At that point, I’m so tired, I can only manage a few pages. Nonetheless, this brings my total for the year to 75. I have 15 between the syllabi for the two classes I’m taking, so if I can only manage ten outside of class over the next few months, I’ll have my 100 for the year!

Leave a Reply

