October Books

Seven total for the month. Yearly total is 92. Reading is fun. 🙂

1. Carmilla, Sherdian Le Fanu. A novella. Vampire story. The best that I read of Le Fanu. (From In a Glass Darkly, a collection of short stories and novellas. Towards the end of the book, I was on Le Fanu overload. He’s not my favorite, but I really did enjoy this novella.)

2. Roanoke Island: The Beginnings of English America, David Stick. I had a presentation on nonfiction writers for young adults, and I randomly chose this guy because he writes about nautical history. This is a lengthy book examining the history of early British colonization in the “Virginia” area (which is actually modern-day NC). It’s really interesting and informative.

3. The Diary of a Young Girl, Anne Frank. I’d never read this before. It’s hard to read, knowing that each diary entry brings me closer to the end–her arrest and subsequent death. It’s incredibly powerful.

4. Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8. Volume 5: Issues 21-25: Predator and Prey. Ugh. I’m only reading these because I love Buffy. I want to know the story. This one was actually better than volume 5, but I miss the goodness of the TV show.

5. The Knife of Never Letting Go, Patrick Ness. AMAZING.

6. The Ask and the Answer, Patrick Ness. A sequel that is just as good as the first book. These books are astonishing.

7. The Same Stuff as Stars, Katherine Paterson. Required for my young adult literature class. An excellent book for middle-school-aged readers about a girl whose father is in jail and whose mother leaves her and her younger brother in the care of an elderly great-grandmother. Angel is forced to be the grownup always, and this book is a great story about how she handles that pressure.

Leave a Reply

