November Books

Only 6 this month, but they were mostly big books. This brings my yearly total to 98. I’m working on book #99 now: 1984 (my first time reading it, if you can believe that). I’m going to be choosing an extra-special one for book number 100…any suggestions?

1. Places I Never Meant to Be: Original Stories by Censored Writers, edited by Judy Blume. I started reading this book during banned books week, to show my support for the cause. A lot of these stories are great; some of them not so much. Some are highly controversial; others, I couldn’t understand why anyone would ever think to censor the story. Nonetheless, it’s a highly intriguing read, and each author who contributed a story also has an essay on how censorship has affected him or her as an author of young adult literature.

2. The Woman in White, Wilkie Collins. 617 pages. Victorian. Insane details. I loved it.

3. Great Expectations, Charles Dickens. This was not for my Victorian Lit class. I just evidently love Victorian lit (and Dickens) so much that I read it for fun. 🙂

4. The Giver, Lois Lowry. For my adolescent lit class, I wrote a paper on teaching social justice (particularly freedom and oppression) to high school students through adolescent literature. I particularly examined dystopian novels, and The Giver is one of the first (and best) examples of this in YA lit. I decided to re-read it for research. 🙂

5. Lady Audley’s Secret, Mary Elizabeth Braddon. A Victorian sensation novel with a happy ending. Enjoyable, definitely.

6. Leviathan, Scott Westerfeld. A disappointment.

2 thoughts on “November Books

  1. Harvin says:

    What did your 100th book end up being?

Leave a Reply

