March Books

In March, I almost doubled the amount of previously-unread books. Yay! I’m ahead of schedule now on reading 100 books this year, though I doubt I can keep up the pace. We’ll see.

17. No Telephone to Heaven, Michelle Cliff. For Caribbean lit. Not my favorite. In fact, we had to read the prequel to this, called Abeng, which I didn’t even finish. I don’t particularly care for Cliff’s style of writing.

18. The Lost Continent: Travels in Small-Town America, Bill Bryson. A snarky, engaging read about Bryson’s trip across America in search of the quintessential, perfect small town. It made me want to jump in my car and drive forever.

19. Flabbergasted, Ray Blackston.

20-22. The three books in Jane Yolen’s Young Merlin trilogy: Passager, Hobby, and Merlin. Awesome fact: the day after I posted a blog about this book, my blog was linked to Jane Yolen’s website, under reviews for the second book Hobby. I got quoted along with Booklist and other legit reviewers. Heck yes. 🙂

23. Let Justice Roll Down, John Perkins. If it doesn’t rock your world…never mind. It’s gotta rock your world. One of the most powerful books I’ve ever read. And I’ve read a lot of books.

24. Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Season 8, Volume 6: Retreat, Jane Espenson. I liked this one a little better than some of the previous ones, but mostly because of some of the characters who show up.

25. The Sisters Grimm Book 1: The Fairytale Detectives, Michael Buckley. Such a delightful book! I can’t wait to read the rest of them!

26. Crossing the Mangrove, Maryse Conde. Another book for Caribbean Women’s Writing. One of my favorites, so far.

27. The Spike Omnibus, by lots of authors. A volumized graphic novel of one-shots and issues from several comic books featuring Spike from Buffy.

28. The Baby-Sitters Club: The Summer Before, Ann M. Martin. Scholastic is re-releasing The Baby-Sitters Club! (Or at least the first three thus far.) They have new covers, and Martin (supposedly–most of the BSC was actually written by ghostwriters) has released a prequel to the series. At 24, my love for the BSC is mostly nostalgic, but they’re like old friends by now. I enjoyed this book far more than a grown woman should…and I have no problem with that. 🙂

29. The Devil’s Arithmetic, Jane Yolen. A powerful, heart-wrenching story about a young Jewish girl who time-travels to 1942 Poland and experiences the Holocaust firsthand.

30. Catalyst, Laurie Halse Anderson. A young adult novel with lots of conflict and tension. Anderson is a great writer.

Leave a Reply

