Baby Playlist

A few weeks ago, some other ladies and I hosted a baby shower for our friends Steffany and Steve, who are expecting a baby in July. The shower was a couples shower, held outside in an orchard, so the atmosphere was more like a summer barbecue. One of my primary responsibilities was to create a playlist for the party, and the results are something I’m pretty proud of. In fact, I’ve listened to the playlist on several occasions since the party! Of course, as befitting the occasion, the theme was “baby”:

(Links are to YouTube videos)

It’s a Boy,” The Who

“Ice Ice Baby,” Vanilla Ice

“Sweet Child O’ Mine,” Guns N’ Roses

“Born to Be Wild,” Steppenwolf

“Be My Baby,” The Ronettes

“Baby I Need Your Loving,” The Four Tops

“Hey Baby,” Bruce Channel

“There Goes My Baby,” The Drifters

“Baby Love,” The Supremes

“Sweet Baby James,” James Taylor

“Baby Driver,” Simon & Garfunkel

Timshel,” Mumford & Sons (The only one without a direct title reference; however, I chose this because of the line “You are the mother / The mother of your baby child / The one to whom you gave life” and because it’s such a beautiful song.)

“Always Be My Baby,” Mariah Carey

“…Baby One More Time,” Britney Spears

“Can’t Get Enough of You Baby,” Smash Mouth

“Baby,” Justin Bieber (Steff is a HUGE Bieber fan and was delighted when this song started to play!)

Baby, Baby,” Amy Grant

“Baby, I Love You,” Aretha Franklin

“Baby, What a Big Surprise,” Chicago

Leave a Reply

