2015 Book & Movie Challenges

In addition to whatever book challenge I do every year, I decided that I would also add a movie challenge since I watched so many wonderful movies last year. I’ll be tracking my watching/reading on my blog, and I’ve made pages to keep track just like I do with my reading every year.

I feel like I became a movie fan late in life. It’s only been the last 3 years that I’ve cared about Oscar races or well-made films or watching every great movie by particular directors. So I’ve missed a lot in all those years before 2012. This challenge will hopefully make up for lost time.

In 2015, I resolve to watch the following films. They must be first-time viewings, and I no movie can count for two or more numbers on the challenge.

  1. A movie longer than 3 hours
  2. A movie made more than 50 years ago
  3. A movie with a number in the title
  4. A movie by a female director
  5. A foreign film
  6. A documentary
  7. A movie directed by Wes Anderson
  8. A DC superhero movie that did not receive critical acclaim
  9. An Oscar-winning Best Picture
  10. A movie that came out in 1985 (the year I was born)
  11. A movie based on a graphic novel not involving superheroes
  12. A movie I own but have never watched
  13. A Quentin Tarrantino movie
  14. A movie recommended by a friend who loves movies
  15. A musical or movie based on a play
  16. A movie with a color in the title
  17. A movie based on a fairy tale
  18. A classic horror movie
  19. A classic science fiction movie
  20. A movie set in South Carolina

I adapted the movie challenge from my book challenge, which in itself is an adaptation of one I found on Tumblr. In addition to my goal of reading 100 books this year, I will fulfill the following 35 requirements:

  1. A book with more than 500 pages
  2. A book published in 2015
  3. A book with a number in the title
  4. A book written by someone under 30
  5. A book with nonhuman characters
  6. A funny book
  7. A mystery or thriller
  8. A book with a one-word title
  9. A short story collection
  10. A book set in a different country
  11. A nonfiction book
  12. A popular author’s first book
  13. A book from an author I love that I haven’t read yet
  14. A book that a friend recommended
  15. A Pulitzer Prize-winner
  16. A book based on a true story
  17. A book at the bottom of my to-read list
  18. A book that scares me
  19. A book more than 100 years old
  20. A book based entirely on its cover
  21. A memoir
  22. A book I can finish in a day
  23. A book with antonyms in the title
  24. A book set somewhere I’ve always wanted to visit
  25. A book published in 1985
  26. A book with a color in the title
  27. A book by an author I’ve never read before
  28. A book I own but have never read
  29. A book set in South Carolina
  30. A book originally written in another language
  31. A book written by an author with my initials
  32. A play
  33. A book I started but never finished
  34. A classic science fiction novel
  35. A book that became a movie or TV show

Follow by movie challenge here and my book challenge here. Let’s see how much I can read and watch in 2015!

Leave a Reply

